Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Several people think that there are other effective ways of curbing crime, whilst some believe that making prisoners serve extended sentences is the best. This essay agrees that adopting capital punishment for a crime will go a long way in curtailing lawbreaking or wrongdoing in society. It is clear that death sentences strike fear in the hearts of every criminal. This is because the life of the individual is terminated once the punishment is executed. In other words, there is no opportunity for a second chance or repentance for the offender. This, accordingly, discourages both potential and existing criminals from indulging in or repeating wrongdoings. For example, China’s corruption rate drastically reduced by 85% in 2002 when death became the only punishment for committing the act. On the other hand, some people disagree and believe that death penalties are inhumane. They argue that the process is painful and traumatizing for both the executioner and executed. Interestingly, humanity is at its best when the execution of crime offenders takes place. To preserve the dignity of the individual, the killing is carried out most humanely that the offender does not even know when death occurs. Afterward, their families are allowed to bury their dead; otherwise, the government carries out a decent burial ceremony for the person. In fact, numerous studies from China revealed that most death penalty candidates went to their death happy knowing the process will be painless and over in three minutes. In conclusion, the adverse fear of dying will dissuade more would-be criminals from the thoughts of perpetuating the crime. Capital punishments will continue to be a major deterrent to crime and should be encouraged.