Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that long-term penalizing is necessary to lessen offense ratio while others say that there are some alternative methods to decrease wrongdoings. Although strengthening punishment time is a mechanism to bring down crime proportions, I believe that lessening down crimes by using diverse methods, other than this, can be more fruitful. On the one hand, numerous people think that the criminal should be in jail for a longer period, so this will bring fear to a person’s mind. In other words, if a person thinks about crime, he already knows that punishment is going to be too long; he will not do any criminal activity. For example, in some countries to a punishment for a crime is a life-time by knowing this anyone can think twice before involving in a part of a crime. However, there are some better ways too to resolve this issue. On the other hand, I believe that there are some other ways too to reduce criminals, for example, by educating and increasing employment opportunities. By education, they can get good jobs, and by this, they remain busy in their work. Moreover, they can set goals for their future, so hardly anyone can think about avail any illegal means to satisfy themselves. For instance, education is free in many developed nations, and there are many business opportunities, so most of the people get jobs after their education; that’s why, those countries are counted in the list of peaceful countries. Therefore, I believe that this is better option. In conclusion, despite the validity of long-time punishments, people can become admirable citizens after getting an education and career for life.