Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Criminal punishment is one of the hotly debated topics. An Individual believed that to decrease offenses criminals need to sentences to jail for a longer duration consequently, many people have different views as to opt an unconventional method to restrict the misdeeds. This essay will discuss both the views as stated whereas I agree with the statement that there are other options to reduce crimes. Crime is a serious problem and all countries are trying to overcome this pertaining issues. Imprisonment for a longer duration creates fear among criminals. This is because people think twice while involving in any criminal phenomenon that they need to serve their entire life in jail. As a result, this fear invokes them from refraining from any kind of unauthorized activity. Likewise, It destroys their entire family. Due to imprisonment for longer terms they keep aloof from their family and from any other social belonging which creates a hallow in their life. Thus, living a life without having any value to it is worthless and arduous. Moreover, there are different ways to tackle this situation. Indeed, education is necessary to raise a good human being. Imparting basic literacy among the citizen helps to somewhat eradicate these major activities which result in controlling this kind of criminal issue. Thus, education help them in providing a sense of observation to choose the course of action and realize their guilt. Similary, parents need to teach their children. If from early childhood guardians teach them the difference between good and bad, which often helps them as a lesson for life. For instance, pick pocketing during childhood days are common, so if we teach them about this wrong practice it will help them to eradicate any misleading activities in the future. To conclude, imprisonment for a longer duration creates an impact on the mind of criminals as well as their social life gets destroyed as they were isolated from their loved ones whereas education and parent’s teaching can make a person bifurcate between good and bad deeds. I strongly agree with the statement that for any offense hardcore punishment is not the only solution to look after but in case of severe crimes it is the best way to teach them.