University studies responsibilities

Nowadays, university studies have become increasingly popular among youngsters, but their role is controversial. Some people argue it is important for universities to generate professionals, while others say that they have to set different goals. In this essay, I will explore these two viewpoints and give my opinion. On the one hand, a university is considered the final step before entering the labour market. Many contemporary occupations are task specific, which makes it a necessity for workers to be able to comply with every job requirement. After graduation, they are expected to have the know-how, as well as the expertise to carry out all the demanding tasks. For instance, as soon as I graduated from the department of Business Administration, I had to take a part-time job as data analyst. I was overwhelmed trying to use all the theory and practice I had mastered throughout my studies. On the other hand, there are many skills and attributes that university students acquire during their studies. It is true that the university environment pulls together a cross-section of society, including international students and people from different faiths and cultures. Often, this will grow the appreciation for other communities and create a more tolerant society. Further, the university experience requires individuals to be independent and self-motivated. This is because work is often self-directed. As a result, the development of useful members of society is possible. All things considered, although it is a common belief that universities prepare students for their work life, they can also contribute to other aspects. Personally, I believe that university should provide all the necessary skills to students in order to create a successful career path.