In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

In some countries, working or travelling before pursuing higher studies is becoming increasingly popular among young students. Many motivate children to follow this pattern as it propels their carrier as well as makes them economically strong whereas, this also leads to students’ concentration deviating from their studies and sometimes never returning back. Gaining work experience or traveling acts as an eye opener for many. It broadens the horizon for youngsters by enlightening them with the practical aspects of life and also makes them independent. Earning upgrades their financial management skills and touring teaches them how to live in adverse conditions, which will be beneficial during the case studies and research work in college. On the contrary, deferring education leads to alleviation of interest. Some students may find it interesting once they start making money or going on trips which will eventually take their focus away from educating themselves. It then becomes difficult to get promotions in their respective jobs or finding a new. Needless to say, a break after schooling can have adverse effects. In conclusion, though taking up job opportunities or discovering places before enrolling for university has its positives like enhancement in terms of finance and learnings, it also has a negative wherein a teenager might start enjoying work and travel more resulting in a drop from further education.