Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Other, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

It is a common belief among people that if a crime is committed by someone that person must be punished. The penalty at times be a certain long time period in prison or doing social work. However, another group of individuals think that there are more effective ways to down trend of crime. This essay will disagree to the point of allowing long prison time to reduce crime and will mainly focus on other alternative methods. It is an acceptable comment as ‘if you commit a crime you have to pay a price’ which involves jail time. Nowadays the level crimes are increasing tremendously, and the court room Judges are also looking at giving longer prison time as a punishment. This has led to many other complications, mainly the maintenance cost has increased accordingly, and the author of this essay disagree with the statement. For example, on last week local newspaper article the police spoke person elaborated that with the past six months drink and driving cases have increased to 200%. However, there are other various other ways to create awareness and reduce crime, and one been is to schedule programs at educational institutes. This is a proper and better approach to educate the students to avoid crime from the schooling days. For instance, St Joseph’s college in Colombo had their recent social responsibility project a speech by a senior police officer on how to avoid crime and the responsibilities a civilian should adhere. In conclusion, there is a wrong opinion in the society that after a crime is committed a long time of prison sentence is a must but in my way of thinking that is incorrect. There are other means of ways to make people be alert on wrong doings such as to educate the school children.