A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Tourism is an important industry sector in many countries around the world. The influx of tourists has been the main source of income in many tourist destinations. However, these travellers can also cause serious issues if not properly managed. This essay will demonstrate how tourism positively impacts the economy of a country and how it can also negatively affect the natural resources. Whilst acknowledging that there are benefits, the essay will argue that the drawback of tourism outweighs its benefits. There are two main advantages of Leisure Industry. First, a strong tourism can lead to more business opportunities for local entrepreneurs due to a huge number of travellers coming for holidays. The increased number of vacationers have resulted to a higher demand for accommodation and food businesses. For example, In Palawan Philippines, many local people are starting to own accommodation businesses like AirBnb, bed and breakfast, or hostels to accommodate tourists that are visiting their province. In addition, the demand for more businesses have also resulted to more job opportunities for local residents, particularly those that are coming from poor families. Many underprivileged families in the provinces greatly depend on their agriculture business as their main source of income. But with the help of Tourism industry, local people can also have the chance to have other sources of income which can also help them to uplift their standard of living. On the other hand, the main disadvantage of tourism is the destruction of natural environment due to negligence of some people. The arrival of many visitors in tourist destinations can put the natural environment at risk because of irresponsible travelling of some vacationers. For Instance, the Boracay Island in the Philippines was named as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world due to its pristine white sand. And because of this, many holiday travellers around the world go to Boracay for vacation. However, some tourists made irresponsible actions such as recklessly throwing garbage or cigarette butts in the sand. In addition, Some businesses also do not follow the rules and regulations in disposing waste materials which cause an increase of toxic levels in the water and can eventually harm not just the people but the marine biodiversity. As a result of this carelessness, the government decided to shut down the island and close the businesses in order for it to be rehabilitated. In conclusion, although mass tourism can result to more job and business opportunities to its local residents and entrepreneurs, it also has an adverse impact to the natural resources if not properly managed. Hence, this can also lead to the loss of many jobs and businesses that can negatively impact the economy. Therefore, the negative drawback of tourism outweighs the benefits.