Some people think that teenagers should concentrate on all subjects at school. Others believe that teenagers should focus on the subject they are best at and most interested in.

A proportion of the populace thinks that teenagers should focus on all subjects at school. The rest believe teenagers should focus on those subjects they are interested in and superior at. I agree to a certain extent with the opinion that adolescents should focus on all subjects. As teenagers, teenagers go through a very tumultuous phase of their respective lives. Adolescents should not be made to focus on all subjects since every teenager is different and possess a unique talent. Pursuing a diversified range of areas and subjects will aid the teachers as well as the pupil to identify their areas of interest as well as those academic areas in which they are gifted at. In addition to this, teenagers need to develop basic life skills and some of the skills are imparted through education in different subjects. For example, a student has to learn mathematics as basic arithmetic is an essential life skill, and learning different languages aid the development of communication skills. Adolescents must be made to focus on all subjects until their late teens since in their late teens, they have a better understanding of themselves and their skills, providing them with the requisite clarity to choose their future course of action. For example, I knew I was good with accountancy and hence I chose to study for an integrated commerce degree at university. In conclusion, young persons must focus on all subjects in schools in order to understand their talents and learn basic skills requisite for life. However, students must be allowed to choose their respective paths once they have attained a certain level of maturity.