Some people thInk that studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to do so? What will be the impacts on children if they are not taught history?

Globalization has many consequences on almost every factor in the world and languages is one of those. People, these days, are focusing on becoming bi-language. I certainly agree that local languages are impacted and are perishing fast. On the one hand, if we have common language all over the world, it will definitely benefit as people from any corner of the world will be able to communicate effectively with each other. This will reduce the cost over third party translators who were persons in past but nowadays devices. Same platform for communication will make life easier and bring all together. On the other hand, local languages are as important as global. Abundant literature is written which provide ample useful information for day to day life. Folk songs are enjoyable only if they are in their original form. Literature and books not only provide knowledge but also traditions and customs. It allows to persist and preserve the culture of particular tribes. It brings diversity and everyone can take advantage of that. For example, in India, most of the Ayurveda books are written in Sanskrit which has mentioned cure of almost every disease. If nobody knows Sanskrit, that knowledge is of no use, hence it is really important to protect and learn them. Another crucial point is if the person knows multiple languages his or her intelligent quotient is more, so the public should be aware about learning more and more languages. To conclude, I think that globalization is one of the reasons to die local languages and it is really important to preserve and save those to get benefits over the time.