Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think it is essential for us to learn history.

Few people think that including history as study material would be time wastage, while others believe that studying history is important for us. This essay discusses both views, although in my opinion, including history in studies is essential for us for a better understanding of our ancestors and heritage. On the one hand, history does not teach us techniques to apply in present times. The events of the past don’t hold much significance in the modern age where technology is at its peak. History is looked down upon as a boring subject in comparison to other subjects like science and math which are more application-based and help in developing strong mental skills. For example, it has been observed in primary and secondary schools that a handful of children are willing to study history as a subject. However, it is pertinent to mention that studying history is essential for learning about our culture. On the other hand, reading about the historical events gives us insights into our culture as well as our ancestors and their evolution into the modern age. Reading about it helps us to acknowledge and understand our cultural heritage. Various historic excavations have led to the discovery of old civilizations such as the Harappa which provides immense knowledge about the functioning of society in that period. This facilitates in keeping us in touch with our culture and analyzing how far our generation has come in terms of civilization. To conclude, even though history is considered a boring and non-productive subject, I believe that it is very essential to study it as it helps us understand the basis of our culture and the evolution of mankind.