Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. Do you agree?

Since getting a university degree is a pass ticket to meaningful work, it remains essential among young people. Some people thus contend that universities ought to equip the students with marketable skills and knowledge. Others argue that theoretical knowledge is valuable as well. I believe that a balanced curriculum that involves both practical and theoretical tool kits, is ideal. As the global population grows, competition for employment increases accordingly. Consequently, to succeed in the modern job market, the applicants should possess valuable skills that set them apart and make that attractive for potential employers, such as computing, training, and other skills. Moreover, as the working environment is rapidly changing, and taking into account that students spend a significant amount of time at schools, they should not fall behind and miss opportunities. Thus the universities should provide their students with all useful work skills to enter the workplace right away. Nevertheless, universities have a long tradition to provide their students with critical thinking skills, which allow for innovation and adaptability in an aforementioned evolving workplace. To illustrate, consider a philosophy major.