Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is true that car accidents have been a problem for a long time, strict punishments have been suggested as a solution to reduce them. There are people who believe that other measures should be taken, in improving road safety. Personally, I think that a combination between them would fix this issue. On the one hand, giving drivers severe penalization is a solution for those who don’t drive prudently because they won’t voluntarily follow the road rules. It will be able to change not only the drive offence’s behaviour, but the other chauffeurs. Heavy penalty should be applied to those who defy the road laws. For example, drivers who exceed the speed limit, must have been imposed a heavier penalty. By paying a greater amount, they will think twice next time. On the other hand, other measures have to be required because fines can become monotonous for some people. After a long time, people may start again to ignore the rules, thus strict punishments would not be so effective anymore. I think that bridges in intersections would decrease number of road accidents. What can be also done is introducing more speed cameras which will make the drivers to pay more attention to the road and the speed limit. To conclude, following the above, strict punishments are not the key to improve road safety. I believe that there are also other measures that should be applied, of course that fines can remain, but not as a key to this situation. There are more important methods that should be thought and applied.