Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.

It is considered by some that the amount of accidents occurred could be suppressed by strict and hard punishments, while there are others who believe there are several more alternatives to improve passengers' safety. In my opinion, I believe strict laws reinforcements are essential to prevent more bad behavioural drivers, while encouraged citizens to use more public transports is better in upgrading peoples safety on the streets. On one hand, there are already several laws need to be obeyed before citizens got a driving license, but the accident percentages are still high in some particular places. Although, not so many of them are able to fully memorise each prohibitions. Consequently, creating a stricter punishment will not practically decrease the number of traffic accidents. In addition to that, the supervisions are a little to nothing. For example, drivers have a restriction to drive after drinking some proportion of alcohol. However, due to the minimum amount of securities to monitor each driver, they are able to drive without any problem. Thus, creating more laws and punishments will not affect the number of traffic accidents. On the other hand, other measurements, such as improving public transport facilities, are considered to be more effective in increasing road safety. One of the main reasons because people will start to choose public transportation as their main accomodation. In other words, the amount of vehicles surrounding the streets will also decrease drastically. For instance, if half of city population started to leave their private vehicles to travel, the number of cars and bikes would also be reduced at least by half. That's why, developing and maintaining public transport facilities is the best solutions in upgrading road safety. In conclusion, the most effective and efficient approach for reducing traffic accidents is by taking other alternatives, like upgrading public transportation, because the number of vehicles will also be reduced significantly.