Some people think that strict punishments are the key to reduce traffic accidents. While other believe there are better ways to improve road safety.

It would be argued by some that punishments are the best way to reduce traffic collisions. In my opinion, however, there are more efficient methods to encourage safer traffic. On the one hand, there are a few reasons why some people think that strict punishments help to encourage people to drive safely. Several types of punishment such as fines, license suspension or prison sentences are the way to prevent and remind drivers not to repeat the same offences. In Vietnam, a drunken driver, for example, is punished thousands of dollars and suspended from driving for one to two years. These affect their career and also economic aspect, and therefore they are unlikely to make the same mistake the second time. On the other hand, I would argue that other better measures should be introduced to promote safe driving. Firstly, people have to be well educated before starting to drive. Students should be taught about safety traffic at school. People who are willing to take the driving license should be trained and examined carefully about moral and legal principles, also driving skills. Secondly, the traffic infrastructure should be designed wisely and effectively. Roundabouts, crossing bridges or warning systems such as traffic lights, signs and speed cameras will draw driver’s attention and also calm traffic. Finally, governments could improve road safety by investing more in public transport, which would mean that fewer personal vehicles are needed. In conclusion, it is undeniable the importance of punishments, I personally believe there are better ways to reduce and prevent traffic accidents.