Some people think that spending a lot on holding wedding parties, birthday parties and other celebrations is just a waste of money. Others, however, think that these are necessary for individuals and the society.

In today’s modern world, every milestone is celebrated from wedding, pregnancy gender reveal party to first birthday and so on. Each celebration require a significant amount. Although it's necessary for individuals and society, I strongly agree that it is a waste of money. I feel like holding event is a huge competition in our society especially now that we can share pictures and videos in social media. In addition, looking at different gatherings happening around us make us think that other people are doing better compare to us. Therefore we tend to spend more making sure our event is better that anybody else. We invite more people and prepare extravagant food. This scenario maybe good to our society as it provides more jobs especially to those who works in food and events industry, it is a waste of money as I believe there are more crucial things that we should spend on. We cannot stop people from celebrating but keeping it small and intimate is more appropriate and sensible. Holding large celebration also means creating huge wastage in food and items that goes to the landfill. We can always connect with our love ones and socialize with them but necessarily need to spend. We can celebrate birthdays by giving donations instead, planting trees and other unconventional way that is more meaningful. I conclude that, spending a lot on holding wedding parties, birthday parties and other celebrations is just a waste of money. Celebrating life with your family regardless how big or small the event is more memorable rather than celebrating it with people who do not know you or them personally.