Very few schoolchildren learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as part of the school curriculum.

Financial education or financial literacy is the ability to understand how money works. It is the art of investing and managing money and the ability to make sound financial decisions. Unfortunately, financial education was not a part our curriculum when I was studying. People from my generation accumulated debts and do not know how to invest early on. I believe that financial education is a critical skill everyone should have. Financial education is equally if not more important than studying literature, science, computer technology and so on and it should be part of school curriculum. Without proper orientation on how many works people makes poor financial decisions like losing money saved for years. Loans are availed without understanding interest payments and the consequences of a default. I myself took a credit card without understanding when and how much should I pay for me not incur charges. I only know that is important to save money but lack of other knowledge on how to increase my savings through investment. It is late already when I knew about stock market. I just realized that if I knew that earlier, I could have bought stocks early as a long term investment. I don’t want my children to do the same mistakes so it would be great if they can learn it from the early age. To sum it up, financial education is crucial and should be a part of school curriculum. It will help empowers the youth on how to invest and create wealth. Being financially literate generally enlightens us on how we can invest our money and generate more wealth.