Some people think that some types of criminals should not go to prison.

With the development of history, the attitudes towards punishment have changed. In the beginning they would harm the criminal's body, or kill him or her. But now, in most situations, the criminal is sent to prison. Due to increased thinking about the true meaning of punishment, people have changed their ways. In my opinion, there are two main functions to punishment. The first is to punish the criminals and make them repent. The second is to protect citizens from criminals. Letting criminals do some work as a punishment can make them repent. But it is only suitable for criminals who have not committed a serious crime. To do so would punish the criminals, and also solve some part of the work problem. From working, the criminals will learn how to live without cheating. Without a doubt, dangerous murderers and terrorists must go to jail. First of all, it is a social responsibility. If the government left killers to walk the streets unrestrained, it would arouse much fear. In addition, the man who commits the fearful crime is unrestrained. If he commits the crime without cost, maybe he would do it again. All in all, it is necessary to use different ways to treat different kinds of criminals. The important thing is to not ignore the purpose of punishment.