Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

In today’s online and interconnected society, the discussion around the negative impact of social networks has been placed at the forefront of many public debates. In this response, I will discuss my initial thoughts on both the positive and negative attributes of social networks. I first concede that social networks have created effective platforms for artists and small businesses that has had an equalising effect on certain industries and business sectors. These industries, record labels for musicians and the costs of running a retail store, for example, had almost insurmountable barriers to success before the rise of interconnected technologies. This can be seen in the proliferation of online business social media accounts that perform a role similar to a retail sales associate; They inform, guide and assist customers and interested parties, while also reducing the costs associated with maintaining a retail store. I do however agree that we as citizens have traded away rights for convenience in this exchange, a conclusion that I draw from my own experiences as part of Generation Z. These experiences have made me wary of both the mental and privacy issues that social networks inflict on today’s youth. I believe that these highly interconnected online spaces prevent us from ‘breaking’ away from overexposure to issues, debates and media consumption. My other concern, digital privacy, has also become a vital issue in the international debate, one that has only recently spawned from the privacy scandals surrounding social media giants like Facebook and Tencent (developer of WeChat). Though social networks have acted as an effective gateway to success for small businesses and individuals, these pros are accompanied by online