Many of the countries believe that international tourism has harmful effects. Why do they think so? What can be done to change their view?

Despite the fact that international tourism plays a crucial role in countries social and economical growth, it is believed by many that tourism industry have some important disadvantages. At the forefront of all demerits of tourism is the impact on local culture. Locals might be drastically affected by visitors who travel to distant small countries with their modern lifestyle traditions. For instance, numerous countries still have their traditional style weddings and when foreigners come to organise their western style weddings in such countries, locals might be highly influenced by their modern ways of weddings. Hence, cultural mixing can be particularly harmful for small countries where people follow their traditional values. The second main drawbacks of tourist influx is the environmental pollution particularly on areas of natural beauty and historical places. To be more clear, when travellers are visiting such places, they tend to be incredibly careless about their garbage disposal and they do not think the long-term affects of their actions. Fortunately, international tourism has plethora of advantages that might help countries to change their mindset about the above-mentioned drawbacks. Firstly, tourism is one of the most valuable revenue source for countries. Incoming visitors contribute to economies in various ways and this income can be used to help countries to grow economically and socially. Secondly, part of this revenue may be used to decrease the environmental pollution caused by the tourist, and maintenance of historical places. For example, organisations that fight with pollution can be funded by some part of the income supplied by the tourists. Finally, tourism is extremely essential for livelihood of numerous locals. Oceans of opportunities namely in restaurants, cafes, hotels and tourist guiding agencies is generated for the locals to work and provide for themselves. To conclude, although there are many drawbacks caused by tourism, such as environmental pollution and decreasing of traditional culture, various measures can be taken to tackle these issues and achieve positive outcomes from tourism.