Many people believe social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge impact on both individuals and society.

Social networking sites, like Facebook have become extremely popular among all age groups. Some people believe that networking sites have a detrimental effect on the society and the local communities. However, I believe that such sites are mainly beneficial to the individual, I agree they can have a damaging implication on the local communities. With regards to the individuals, the impact social media has on a person has clear advantages. Firstly, people from different countries can be connected on these networking platforms whereas, before the development of technology or social media, people rarely had a chance to be to communicate with anyone else apart from their immediate circle. Secondly, Facebook allows to form groups or forums where people across the globe can participate in the discussions and this will enable exchange of ideas who share similar interests. On the other hand, the effect that social media sites has on the society and local communities can be considered to be negative. For instance, it is seen that individuals, rather than taking part in the local community, they are more interested in life’s of the people online. Furthermore, society as a whole is becoming fragmented and disjoint as people like to spend time online with the people whom they have never met face to face and whom they are unlikely to meet in the future. In the end, even though social networking sites have bought individuals closer but they have not had the same effect on the society or local communities. Local communities should try to do more and involve local people in local activities in order to promote future of the community life.