Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

Social networking sites have become an important part in our life. However, it is argued that these sites have some devastating effects on individuals and the society. Personally, I strongly agree with this idea. To begin with, social media is extremely detrimental to people's psychological stability. Some people using these sites may face some cyberbullies and they would say some very nasty stuff to these innocent people, which have some negative impacts on their mental stability. In other words, their mental health can get damaged by the bullies. In some situations, it causes serious mental diseases such as depression and eating disorders. To make matter worse, there have been numerous reports on how people commit suicide due to cyberbullying. Thus, feasible measures should be taken in to reduce the use to networking sites. Addiction is another drawback of social networks. The majority of the young people face this problem. It does not only ruins their academic grades, but it also plays a huge part in destroying their family ties. The critics may argue that these sites are beneficial to their relationship with their family since it helps them to keep in-touch with their family. However, they fail to take into account the fact that they are busy chatting and laughing to a cold-blooded screen. Hence, they don't have the time to visit their friends or relatives in person. As a result, relationships have become shallow. For example, in the earlier days, individuals used to have togethers at least once a month, but nowadays most of the people do not even know many of their relatives. Consequently, these sites are immensely unhelpful when it comes to bringing families together. In conclusion, although these networking sites are beneficial to some extent, I strongly agree with the argument that they have more detrimental effects on both the local community and the people. Firstly, it is disadvantageous to people's mental stability. Secondly, it is pernicious to family ties.