Some people think that social media, i. e. Facebook and Twitter, can replace face-to-face contacts. Do you think the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media have gradually occupied the position of direct interaction in modern society. Even though they offer people a huge amount of benefits, I believe that there are also some drawbacks. In the one hand, social media have a lucrative impact on human’s lives. People can communicate with others conveniently regardless of distance. Perhaps they might be able to contact rapidly to people they want through smartphones and computer screens rather than meeting directly. For instance, people who go to study in faraway place might be able to keep in touch with their family and friends in Viet Nam by the function of Facebook, Messenger, Instagram, so on. As a result, talking online might be able to cope with the disadvantage of long distance as well as save time for people in the hectic lifestyle. Conversely, online interaction might also have the variety of detrimental effects which make it not be able to replace face to face communication. Merely talking through screens might impact on human’s characters. They might turn into the introvert because of lacking direct contact, which undermines people’s communication capability. Thus, it might result in the isolation and loneliness in the schools or workplaces because they may not be able to connect to others if they have to talk face to face to their peers or colleagues. Additionally, when people interact together in real life, they frequently express their notions through not only verbal communication but also body language and eye contact which talking through social media might not provide. Therefore, interacting by just online methods may cause misunderstanding each other if people can not explain their idea clearly and understandably. In conclusion, I strongly argue that social media may be one of the most fabulous invention of humanity because of its demerits if people perceive how to spend them sensibly.