Some People Think That Should Ban Dangerous Sports

Nowadays, a growing number of people are drawn to participating in extreme sports such as boxing. However, there are conflicting views about whether these activities should be prohibited. Both sides of the argument will be discussed in this essay, followed by my perspective on this matter. People advocating ban on extreme sports have their own reasons / justifications. Firstly, most of these activities are aggressive, making participants very vulnerable to injury or even death. For example, in China, kite surfing which is a dangerous sport is extremely popular and the death rate among the participants is quite high. Obviously, it was the participation in this activity that led to the loss of so many lives. Furthermore, some dangerous sports are violent such as boxing which involves lots of high-speed kicking and punching. If players perform them frequently, they may become violent or be desensitized to violence in real life. Such impacts/insensitivity may trigger them to commit crimes, impairing social stability. Hence, it is necessary to disallow people from participating in risky sports. However, opponents have their own arguments. They argue that dangerous sports do not pose safety risks because most sports require participants to receive professional training to protect themselves, thereby lowering their probability of being injured. What is more, sports like car racing have been gaining more popularity than before and have become an important industry in many countries. If they were banned, then many people would lose their jobs, making it difficult for them to survive. Also, for those cities relying on sports events like F1 to attract tourists, their tourism industry would be affected adversely. As discussed above, although endangering sports threaten participants’ lives or lead to crimes, people could take measures to reduce the risks. Therefore, I believe that we should be free to participate in those sports but training should be provided to teach us how to protect ourselves.