Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together.

While others are of the opinion that students should be selected based on their cognitive abilities, some are of the notion that it would be much more advantageous if students with different abilities are mixed in the same class. In my opinion, having students with the same academic abilities will be beneficial to both students and teachers. Having student in a class with different abilities will result to a slow pace of learning. This is because students with weaker learning abilities will delay the transition of learning. Educators may not proceed to another topic if some students do not understand the current lesson. This scenario happened during my college years in my mathematics subject, we could not proceed to our lesson on word problem solving in our trigonometry because some of my classmates do not understand the trigonometric identities. As a result, my instructor has to discuss the topic all over again until all of us understand. It can be seen that when students with different learning ability is mixed up, a delay in learning will happen. On the other hand, when students with same learning capabilities are in the same class the learning process will be faster and will result to covering more lessons, thus learning will be maximized. If all students have the ability to fast cognition, teachers can deliver the lesson swiftly and can discuss advance lessons to students. For instance, in the Philippines there is a special science class in secondary school for students who are intelligent have more advanced topics when compared to students who belong to class with different abilities. Furthermore, Teachers can adjust the method of teaching that they will apply resulting in better learning among students. If the students in a class have a weaker learning ability the teacher can use a slower, clearer way so that students can understand. In contrast, in a class of students with better learning ability the teacher can apply a technique that suits the capability of the student. In conclusion, students with different abilities in a class will result to a slower way of learning and the potential of fast learner will be compromised, but if students are sorted according to abilities the learning will be much faster and also educators can adjust to what is the best method to apply to class.