High stakes English language tests such as IELTS, are being increasingly delivered on the computers. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Assessment in the 21st century has changed following the rapid development of technology around us. As such, English languages tests follow this trend and started providing a computer based exams as another option for the paper one. This essay will discuss how the advantages of this new option exceeds its disadvantages. To start with, some people are not comfortable using technology. This will definitely affect the students grade as the test will not only examine the English language skills but also the computer competencies. To illustrate this, when the students want to write an essay, but he/she doesn’t have a good keyboarding skills, which directly relate to the pace of their typing during the exam, this will be eventually reflected on the final outcome. Thus computer based tests need a certain level of technology literacy. On the other hand, digital natives, those who are born in past 25 years or so, are confident technology users. They are even more comfortable reading from the screen unlike those who are older. Not only this but also having digital exam options encourages students to learn and develop these skills, which are part of what they should acquire during their k-12 years, to ensure the desirable outcome. For this and many more, it is recommended to have a computer based exams in this century. In conclusion, although some are not at ease being examined on a computer, but most of the students in this century, unlike digital immigrants, opt for a digital exam. Adding to that, all the standards for students require having not only the basic computer skills but advanced ones. Thus, offering computerized option outweigh the disadvantages.