Some people think that schools should concentrate on academic courses which are useful to the career of students; courses like music and sports are not useful and therefore should not be offered.

The debate over the necessity of courses like music and sports in school teaching has been heated constantly. From my perspective, the advantages of learning academic courses are considerable for students; however, I strongly believe that music and sport courses are also useful to the students’ career. There are strong reasons supporting the view that students studying academic courses gain valuable knowledge. First and foremost, it is obvious that the main reason that schools concentrate on academic courses as most students nowadays struggle to apply for companies is because they do not meet the requirements of the employers. Educators believe that learning some basic academic subjects helps students save time to pursue their dreams in a professional area, compared to those who were not aware of the essential of learning such subjects at schools. Moreover, those academic subjects taught to students provide them with necessary skills and knowledge, which boosts their productivity of work, so they tend to be promoted in their careers. On the other hand, I am convinced subjects like music and sports play a key role in developing students. Children’s talent in these fields can never be discovered without music and sport courses. The reality indicates that music-related and sports-related industries are among the most successful in the world and students who have extraordinary talents will be popular in these fields. Furthermore, the provision of both academic, music and sports education is mandatory for an all-round growth of children. For instance, playing sports improves students’ strength and music helps them receive work pressure. To conclude, there are several benefits of studying academic courses, however, music and sports subjects are indispensable in education.