Some people think that school should involve students in deciding on how to run school?

Student engagement in education process is of immense importance and encouraged in China. I wholeheartedly agree the opinion that the development of school should consider student’s thoughts. Undoubtedly, student’s feedback is beneficial for the development of courses. Perhaps the first and foremost benefit is to boost teaching quality. If teachers require students to fill a feedback questionnaire at the end of each semester and then overhaul their weaknesses, the teaching quality will be efficiently improved. Additionally, students may think that their ideas are valuable, resulting in an increasing on students’ passion in attending classes. In turn, it is advantageous for schools. Another well-known example for running school effectively is student union. As an independent and student-led organization at school, it always delivers innovative programs, events and services to students, which lift some burdens off of school, so that school can pay more attention to where they specialize in, such as teaching and course organization. However, students should not be involved in all decision-making processes. Especially in issues such as bullying, sex education and drug education as an example. Since pupils are too young to understand these complex problems, they do not have enough maturity to make obligations for those issues. Another compelling reason is that the students’ priority at school is to study. Since entering a reputable university is competitive, it is not uncommon that students have little free time at school. Involving them in all decision-making processes will considerably impact their study. In conclusion, school administrations should consider student’s opinions in decision-making process which is definitely advantageous for school. However, students should not involve into all decision due to their immaturity.