Some people think that school children should be asked to work individually in class. Others believe that working in small groups is better.

Many individuals believe that school students should be allowed to work independently in class as it makes them self-reliant, whereas others insist that they should work in a group as it improves their team spirit. I think they should be given a mix of group activities and individual tasks. In this essay, I will discuss both the views and substantiate my opinion. On the one hand, working independently is certainly beneficial for students in some ways. If they work individually to achieve a task, they do most of the work involved in it themselves and they will have a better learning outcome. That will eventually make them self-sufficient and smart. For example, consider a pupil undertaking an academic project. If he/she does the entire assignment alone, the student will acquire a wide variety of skills, including documentation, researching, and presentation. Similarly, working independently empowers them to tackle harder challenges and makes them more competent and responsible. For example, if an individual is competing in a solo sports activity such as chess or tennis, they alone are responsible for their success or failure. On the other hand, if pupils engage in group activities, they gain more. Firstly, it makes people more tolerant of their peers’ ideas and trains them to cope with other people’s character. They get a chance to mingle with their teammates and that makes them more sociable and outgoing. Furthermore, group activities teach them about the importance of sharing and applauding the success of other individuals. Overall, such lessons are imperative for the all round development of students and eventually help them to be successful in their future. These are some of the principal reasons why schools include several team activities in their academic curriculum and encourage team sports such as football and cricket. In conclusion, individual activities make people self-reliant and mature. However, working in a group makes them good team players who are sociable and cooperative. As such, I firmly believe that team activity should be promoted as much as possible along with individual tasks for the holistic development of a child.