Some people think that school children need to learn practical skills such as car maintenance or bank account management along with the academic subjects at school.

It is true that children do not learn many practical skills at school. However, I completely disagree with the idea that schools should teach skills like bank account management and car maintenance. At present, most schools focus on important academic subjects such as mathematics, science and language. These subjects help young people to gain knowledge and to develop thinking skills that will be vital for their future careers. We live in a knowledgebased economy where independent thinking and problem solving are the most important skills. With timetables already full, schools do not have time to teach children anything else. Furthermore, I do not believe that most practical skills are beneficial enough to be included in lessons. I would argue that bank account management, for example, is a life skill that anyone can learn by simply opening and using a bank account. Most adults have no problem managing their finances without being taught accounting lessons at school. In fact, I have never met anyone who found it difficult to use a bank account. Other practical skills like car maintenance or plumbing are not really necessary because most people prefer to pay a qualified mechanic or plumber. It would be a waste of children’s time if these subjects were introduced as part of the school curriculum. In conclusion, schools have always taught the traditional academic subjects that help students to prepare for university or professional life. If they start to teach practical skills, the study of important academic subjects will suffer.