In many countries, the rich are becoming richer and poor are becoming poorer.

In this tech-savvy era, online shopping, which is reverberating around the world, is gaining new consumers day-by-day. It is generally believed that this nascent approach to shopping also comes with its own sets of benefits and drawbacks. This topic has been profoundly debated in many forums by financial savants. I gauge the merits and demerits before discerning my opinion. Throwing light on the advantages, I feel that online shopping is very pragmatic to the contemporary lifestyle as it saves a lot of time and energy from physical shopping for the buyers. E-commerce websites, which offer a slew of options to any product, can easily attract the consumers’ attention to them than a traditional store. Furthermore, many people think that they can compare the pricing of the product easily when they purchase through online shopping. For example, Amazon, which is the world’s largest shopping website, offers range of collections and competitive pricings from various manufactures and dealers to almost all their products. Conversely, the biggest disadvantage is that many products do not get delivered without damage since the logistics is still not meticulous when compared to delivery done from traditional outlets. Many online shopping websites, which are available in the market, does not have an engaging customer support to deal with the grievances. Moreover, many people allege that there are many dubious websites marketing incorrect information because there are no stringent regulatory norms still for online shopping portals. For instance, one e-commerce website in India, which marketed a smart phone for a throw away price recently, got identified as a fake company by the officials. To conclude, I believe that there are many fruitful expediencies in shopping though online even though it has few curable bottlenecks.