To what extent has Information technology reduced social inequality

People who live in highly developed countries often take access to information technology for granted. They find it hard to imagine a world in which this technology does not bring greater prosperity. However, as the IT revolution moves forward in some parts of the world, in other parts of the world the poor are falling further and further behind. Indeed there are many barriers to wider IT access and its potential benefit. To begin with, illiteracy is a major obstacle for social inequality and IT are not acceptable for those people who can not read even in their native language. And what about people whose mother tongue is not English? I live in Uzbekistan. Here it is normal to get primary education for everyone because it is free. But even my parents who are educated people can not use computer and the Internet because they do not speak English. And being able to use English at least at the levels A1-A2 is a must for accessing the Internet. Moreover, basic infrastructure in some countries is inadequate. Again I use my own country as an example. In my region we face a problem of irregular electricity supply. Sometimes we do not have electricity for some hours a day and sometimes we even don’t have it for some days. And the last but not the least is a cost of Internet access. In highly developed countries free WiFe in public places is a widespread facility. Here we enjoy free Internet only in a few places of a city. And in order to get cable Internet for a home PC the one has to pay a sum which is quite high according to a typical salary. A monthly fee is equal to one in five from hundred percent of a salary. So not every person who wants to access the Internet has such an opportunity. To sum up I would like to underline that the appearance of international technology has not reduced social inequality itself. It gave some more opportunities for poorer people but they not always can use them.