Some people think that punishment is the best way of teaching children to behave well. Others believe that it is better to reward children for good behaviour.

The most impactful years in the lives of person are that of childhood. It is in these years that one forms impressions and the experiences shape the nature and behavior of the child. Some people believe that a child must be punished for a wrongdoing while others believe that one must shape an individual through rewards. Rewards and recognition are the positive pillars to motivate a person. When a child gets a reward for speaking well or discipline or cleanliness, it motivates him or her to do it more. Even more, the child gets to know the importance of the good things he or she is doing in life. Even more, complementing children for their excellence boosts their self-esteem and help them become better individuals. However, punishments have their own impact on the lives of an individual. Children refrain from doing an activity in fear of receiving punishment. For instance, if a child was abstained from having chocolate because of a mistake he or she did, there will be a realisation on why the things are not right. Punishing must not mean physical or mental torture, if done with care it brings in the realisation more than fear. In conclusion, growing years are formative years of a child life and both rewards and punishment are necessary. In my opinion, a child must get both but what is more important is the realisation of things from rewards and recognition.