Some people think that private companies, rather than governments, should pay for cleaning up the environment. with this opinion?

The ever-intensifying environmental pollution has been hanging over human beings and threatening survival of creatures on our planet for many years. Although I agree that governments have drained substantial capitals to confront this issue, I do not think enterprises can be excluded from curbing contamination and deterioration. Obsessed with commercial production in greedy pursuit of profits, many industries are blind to how much pollutants they have discharged into the environment. During the process of industrialization, toxic gases contaminate the atmosphere, untreated sewage is poured into rivers and lakes, and soil erodes chronically undermined by waste material. As a result, the public fall victim to industrial development, suffering from various environment-related health problems such as respiratory diseases and food poisoning. Therefore, not only are companies obliged to actively reduce the pollutants released, but they should dedicate to environmental protection by facilitating research and development of clean energy and environmentally-friendly products to substitute for previous ones. Government always involves in preserving the environment from enacting laws to allocating financial reserves for protection projects. This is because regulations are justified to ensure private companies meet their environmental responsibilities. Likewise, taxes imposed on them enable authorities to relieve the pressure on environment by funding relevant researches. These prioritized policies are high on the government’s agenda in the drive to resolve problems. As government accumulates capitals from private companies and society, it is reasonable to tangibly invest in protection and implement other effective measures. In conclusion, private companies should embrace innovations in green technologies and business models so as to restrict the quantity of pollutants, whereas governments are also responsible for seizing the initiative to combat pollution by comprehensive methods.