Some people think that poverty is the reason behind most crimes.

Poverty can be a cause as well as an effect for several things. It does bring out the worst in people as desperate times call for desperate measures. However, in my perspective poverty might be a cause behind a number of crimes but not entirely. Commiting a crime is not something that happens just in the heat of the moment, it is learned gradually over a period of time. In analysing most criminals’ minds, one would notice faulty patterns of behaviours and beliefs. Now these beliefs are something that are evolved overtime if not treated sensitively, in no time these thoughts turn into behaviours and eventually become actions which result in repetitive habits. A disorder commonly seen in growing children is known as “ conduct disorder”. Characteristics of this disorder include showing age inappropriate behaviour, acting deviant from societal norms, threatening to harm oneself or others’ property. If children suffering from this disorder aren’t treated in therapy or counselling it might result in them leading a difficult life and turning into criminals. To a certain degree, one of the major reasons behind most crimes would be coined as psychological issues within a person, which is often referred to as ‘not being in the right state of mind’. To some extent, family values and environment around an individual also play a key role in determining their morals and behaviour. Seeing criminal activities in a positive light would just normalise it for everyone in the family. On the other hand, desperation owing to lack of resources and poverty might lead to people indulging in criminal acts but that cannot be pegged as the only reason for crimes. It is of no surety that people coming from a privileged background do not commit crimes. Finally, it may be concluded that reasons behind most crimes are an interface of a person’s psychological health and their family and personal values.