A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. with this opinion?

These days, social status and material possessions have become the criteria for determining a person’s worth rather than their honour, kindness, or trust. I disagree with this and believe that there is more to a person’s character than their class or money. Everyone strives to be rich in order to live a luxurious life in the future. For this, they pursue higher and higher positions, which would make them seem more important to the society. In the process, some people lose their values, yet they are still well respected in the society due to their high position or salary. People choose to befriend wealthier individuals over honourable persons. They do this for their own personal gain. Their wealth may help these people later in life. Similarly, people would rather associate with others who have the same or higher status than them. It does not look good for a rich person to befriend someone who cannot provide for themselves. A person’s values seem to have to importance in comparison to their wealth in today’s world. Therefore, even if peoples’ worth is judged by their social status and possessions, I believe that their values should not be forgotten and must be taken into account when assessing someone’s character.