Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that physical fitness is the key to success in sports. However, some others are opposed to this idea, claiming that mental toughness is of uttermost importance. I believe that athletes need to be physically strong in sports tournaments, but their mental stamina is more important for them to overcome their own limits to achieve victories. There are numerous reasons why success in sports requires extraordinary physical fitness. First and foremost, sport, by its very nature, can be recognised as a system of competitive activities based on physical dexterity and athleticism. This means that a striker in a soccer match is often required to ensure high levels of stamina throughout a match so that he can dribble past defenders, sprint towards his opponents' goal, finish and be ready to assist his fellow teammates when necessary. This can be seen in the way Sadio Mane and many other successful soccer players like Cristiano Ronaldo and Messi perform in their games, and it is estimated that the average distance that they run in a game is around 11 kilometers. Moreover, most elite athletes are cautious and well-prepared in exercising and eating to build muscle. The reason is that physical toughness helps them avoid injuries during training or competition, or their sporting career would be ruined by injuries.