Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is a fact the advertisement is the backbone of the industry as without advertisement customer reach would have been a cumbersome job. However it is also imperative to understand the negative impacts of the advertisements. Hence, I completely agree that advertising encourages us to buy things that are not required in our lives. Firstly, In my opinion most of the companies are misleading customers with incomplete or false information resulting them to buy products which are not actually needed. This is due to absence of strict laws against false advertisement. To illustrate this, we can take an example of skin lightening creams which are available abundantly in market. These creams claim to provide fair skin tones. However, none of these creams can change the skin tone still, they have huge customer base which gets deluded by their false claims delivered by popular influencers and Bollywood actors. Hence, this shows us that false advertising can lead to create customer base for useless products. Secondly, I believe misrepresentation of facts about the product in the advertisement is the biggest reason of creating market for unwanted products. Companies often advertises their product in a way which will be most luring for the customers. For example, advertisements used for healthy food segments available in the market are marketed as most healthy options with no harmful ingredients in it. However, most of these healthy options have minimal healthy ingredients in it. Hence, deluding customers to buy unwanted products. Therefore, this tells us that products can be sold in market without serving any actual purpose especially with strategic advertisement. To sum up, Advertisement is an extremely powerful tool for companies to create sales for their products which are not required or useful. Hence, there should be strict laws to prevent customers from getting deceived from false advertising. On the other hand, it is also a responsibility of a product company to provide complete and correct information for their products which will allow a customer to make an informed decision.