Some people think that physical fitness is the key to success in sports.

Some people think that physical fitness is the key to success in sports. However, some others are opposed to this idea, claiming that mental toughness is of uttermost importance. I believe that athletes need to be physically strong in sports tournaments, but their mental stamina is more important for them to overcome their own limits to achieve victories. There are numerous reasons why success in sports requires extraordinary physical fitness. First and foremost, sport, by its very nature, can be recognised as a system of competitive activities based on physical dexterity and athleticism. This means that a striker in a soccer match is often required to ensure high levels of stamina throughout a match so that he can dribble past defenders, sprint towards his opponents' goal, finish and be ready to assist his fellow teammates when necessary. This can be seen in the way Sadio Mane and many other successful soccer players like Cristiano Ronaldo and Messi perform in their games, and it is estimated that the average distance that they run in a game is around 11 kilometers. Moreover, most elite athletes are cautious and well-prepared in exercising and eating to build muscle. The reason is that physical toughness helps them avoid injuries during training or competition, or their sporting career would be ruined by injuries. On the other hand, a strong mentality is also very essential for any professionals to be successful. Undoubtedly, athletes can only function optimally if they have an exorable doggedness and a can-do and positive attitude. Many top sports players such as Cristiano Ronaldo or Michael Phelps devote themselves to willpower and mental preparation to gain a sense of confidence and calm regardless of pressures to keep the best performance during the game while other players might succumb. In addition, it was reported that Cristiano Ronaldo, despite possessing many desirable innate physical attributes and abilities such as height and speed, has never missed a training session and he even trained all by himself on the night he won the UEFA championship, one of the most coveted titles in football. Additionally, mental prowess has been proven to be a game-changing factor in deciding the outcome of a match. Even seeded players can bitterly lose to underdogs if stressed or pressured. In conclusion, it is clear that sports-players need both physical and mental capabilities to prove themselves successful. However, I believe that mental power is more important than physical fitness in determining sporting success.