Some people think that people should local shopkeepers should sell locals food whenever available instead of selling imported food.

It is argued that the local market should prefer to sell local food as compared to foreign produce. This essay agrees with this statement because it will help to improve the financial condition of local farmers and the local food will help in improving the health conditions of residents. The main reason why shop owners should consider to sell local produce is that it will raise the income of farmers. When local shopkeepers sell local products in the market, it is more likely that farmers will get a good price of their crops because they will not have to pay more for transportation. Consequently, farmers will get better payment for their crops and resulting in the improved living standard of farmers. For example, a recent study by Cambridge University found that farmers who sold their produce in the local market were more prosperous than who sold in the national market. Another main reason for encouraging shopkeepers to sell local products is that it will improve the health of the local people. This is due to the fact that people will not eat preserved food if there is availability to buy fresh farm products. This has been believed by all health experts it is important for people to eat fresh food to stay healthy. To illustrate, I am eating fresh fruits and vegetables grown by local farmers from last the two months, and I have seen a drastic improvement in my health conditions. In conclusion, shopkeepers should prefer to sell food that is grown in the local farms because it will help local farmers financially and the fresh food will improve local peoples’ health.