Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Although it is axiomatic that youth should be taught the values and duties of being a part of society, this has been controversial has to who should be responsible to impart the knowledge. While some believe that guardians should be the one to do it, others differs that educational structure must do so. The factors leading to both perspectives are discussed. Looking upon the view that topic in discussion should be a teacher’s duty, a child spends considerate amount of time with other children in school, and hence, it would be a better place to be taught. To explicate, as pupils interacts with many people of various age group such as juniors, seniors, and teachers, they could learn so much under faculties’ supervision and importance of being a team player can be instilled in them. For example, as per a research study in India, group activities must be inculcated in school curriculum and by doing so pupils can be 20-30% more outgoing and friendly. Embarking on the other side, child should learn good qualities, which are essential for betterment of the nation, even before child starts going to school. To ponder upon, children have the best grasping power when young; consequently, parents are the best medium for a child to learn. While teachers can teach the values, there are far too many students to focus on; hence the attention needed can be given at home only. Additionally a child may be more willing to understand and accept from an older person in the house, as compared to someone in school. To substantiate, according to a survey in the USA, 70% of the kids gets the vital values even before starting preschool. In a way to conclude, while a number of people argue that teachers can teach children in a group, others concurs that child spends majority of time with their parents, hence, they should have the responsibility. In my perception, both of them have enormous affect on child and both of them should try to make better of a child.