Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that schools is the place to learn this. Discuss both views.

There is no doubt that building strong character in children is geared towards teaching them how to be a good citizen. Some people assume that parents should take responsibility for guiding the children while others argue that teachers are superior for such an important role. Although both opinions carry equal strength, I lean towards the former one much more. I will state my opinion on the following points It is evident that children spend a lot of time in school on a daily basis. Therefore, they are expected to learn valuable skills from interacting with their peers and teachers. Such a wide range of good manners and behaviours could be taught such as honesty, moderation through classes. For example, children can learn the importance of discipline, teamwork and punctuality. Not only in school but also parents play a crucial part in guiding children. They allocate and devote time to help their offsprings shaping their personality. Parents educate them about love, empathy and kindness. Hence, their contributions are exceptional Although both viewpoints are persuasive, I am of the opinion that parents are superior. They are the first teachers and home is the first place where children learn about life lessons. On top of that, parents are considered to be role models for them to imitate. They know how to set good examples for their offsprings. Parents teach them to show respect to the elders, deal with day to day matters, dedication, …They could teach their children more specifically and more efficiently while there are less chances at school. To conclude, both teachers and parents play crucial parts in educating children how to be a good member of society. From my point of view, parents should take this task on their shoulders as the children could learn things more efficiently from them.