Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate.

People hold different views about the main function of museums should be whether entertaining people or serving for educating purposes. In my opinion, it is better for museums to reconcile two factors described above. On the one hand, it cannot be denied that entertainment plays an indispensable role in museums recently. Firstly, museum can be seen as a tourist attraction in which people find their pleasure from savouring fascinating collection of exhibits. In other words, almost of people take a visit at museums to enjoy myself instead of getting academic knowledge. Secondly, integrating amusement into traditional exhibitions makes it easier for museums attract people’s attention, especially the younger generation. Finally, visitors who come to museums to seek entertainment may find themselves learning more than their expectation. On the other hand, educating people is also an internal part of a museum. Museum provides the valuable information about history, culture or science to visitors via a variety of ways. The commentaries and storytelling, for instance, always give participants the knowledge that they have never known before. Additionally, tangible objects and collections that can be genuinely seen and touched make museum to be an ideal place for people to study as it offers people the precise views about history and other aspects. It is obvious that without museum it is very difficult for people to find other places that have the same learning advantages. In conclusion, it seems to me that museums should combine education and entertainment instead of splitting them into two separate parts.