Some people think that mental strength is the most important factor for success in sports. However, some others believe that it is more important to have strong and fit people.

In sports, some people think that physical health is an essential element for success whereas others undeniably admit that mental health plays an important role in this field. From my point of view, not only physical but mental health contributes to achievements in sport. First of all, success in sports requires getting exceptional physical strength. Some aspects belong to this kind of strength are muscular power, some striking skills such as flexibility, endurance, and resilience. For example, a runner in a sprinting phase makes the most of his energy to win the competition or a basketball player requires a proper resilience and height to score goals in matches. Second, athletes necessitate to gain a proper diet, appropriate training program and resting time which make them able to get their best results. On any occasion, even if someone has a good physical health, practicing strategy should be enhanced and carried out to maintain their strength and actually improve their future demonstrations. As we know, Michael Phelps, one of the most extraordinary swimmers, still regularly and continuously undergoes a training regimen during his illustrious career. Besides, to succeed in sports requires another type of health, that is the power of mental. Although not all of the athletes get achievements at first, volition and emotional efforts can make true change in their results. Mental strength encourages individuals keep training and trying so as to reach better physical health. Moreover, mental health could help people even during matches. In the beginning, losing scores or getting unexpected results may tire individuals out but motivational cheering from teammates, coaches, and audiences preserve their positive spirit to turn the tide. Especially in some long – time matches such as football, basketball, volleyball, and some other kinds of sports, strengthen mental power is one of the indispensable roles for success. To conclude, success in sports attributes to two factors including keeping body strong and fit and maintain good mental health. Thus, training to strengthen both physical and mental power should be encountered to get achievements in this field.