Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion.

Many people nowadays argue about death penalty. The most common question on this topic is whether it should be legal for people who commited violent crimes, or it should be fully illegal. In this essay I will look upon advantages and disadvantages of justice system with capital punishment. To begin with, death penalty is quite an effective way to prevent people from commiting violent crimes like mudering. It really does its job, because mostly people are extremely scared to be executed, thus they are likely to remain law abiding people. Moreover, if a criminal already commited such a bad crime, in most cases he is likely to commit something similar to what he did even after being in prison for a long time. Capital punishment wipes this person out of this world, so there will be no chance for him to commit anything worse. Execution also excludes huge money wastage. When a criminal is in prison, funds taken for taxes are being spent on clothes, food, bed clothes for him and some other things. Nevertheless, despite the fact that there are a lot of advantages of capital punishment, there are still some disadvantages. Firstly, there were a lot of cases in which executed people turned out to be not guilty of the crime. In such cases, nothing can be done to return a person back to life. Secondly, it is extremely hard to decide whether a person really deserves being executed or not, and such difficult cases require a lot of evidence and a long trial. Lastly, after commting a crime it is worse to take his freedom, not his life. It will be much more harsh punishment for such an awful person. To sum up, I would say that I prefer an idea of justice system with death penalty, because less money spent to organise the procedure and also it makes other people not likely to commit violent crimes.