Some people think that mental strength is the most important factor for success in sports. However, some others believe that it is more important to have strong and fit people.

Some people argue that physical strength is the most crucial determinant of success in sports. However, I firmly believe that an athlete cannot deliver an unrivalled performance without a stout heart. Sportspeople with superb physiological characteristics are definitely offered a decisive advantages over their opponents. Take NBA players as an example. Their wide shoulder, bulging biceps and other incredible genetic endowment clearly allow them to easily intimidate any players stopping their way on the court. It is therefore suffice to say that in the majority of sports, especially when it comes to collision and high contact ones, a team's chance of winning a championship is directly proportionate to its players' brute strength and stamina. A strong mentality, on the other hand, is what makes an athlete extraordinary. Lionel Messi, the legend footballer, clearly exemplifies this point. Diagnosed with a hormone disorder, he has a comparatively shorter stature than other world-class strikers. Despite this apparent physical deficiency, Messi has been awarded numerous high accolades for being the greatest football player of this century. It is also a universal truth that professional athletes are required to be cool- headed under immensely stressing situations, which can only be done by possessing great mental prowess. Highly emotionally driven as humans are, any aggressive behaviors displayed would only be regarded as against sportsmanship. Instead, strategic decisions and perseverance of a strong-willed mind can be game-changing facters in deciding the outcome of a grueling match. In conclusion, while no one can underestimate the importance of being physically well-built, nerves of steel is indeed what it takes for any athlete to secure success in sports. In the future, with training integrating18 both physical and mental health becoming increasingly available, the sporting industry will be able to welcome generations of successful sports players who are physically fit and mentally prepared.