Some people think that life expectancy of people is increasing which results in higher percentage of old people. What are it's effects. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Undoubtedly, health facilities are advanced in these days. Therefore, a section of individuals believe that the number of old generation is increasing due to life span. In my perspective it has numerous drawbacks along with few benefits. There are some positive effects of this phenomenon which cannot be ignored. The predominant one is that grey haired people are not only more experienced as compared to younger ones, but also they have more linkage with culture. Thereby, youngsters can get information from them regarding culture and tradition. Also, they can take advice from senior citizens in difficult situations and learn the lessons of life. Moreover, it is the simble of countries' development. If the percentage of old people is more, they can contribute in the holistic growth of nation along with youngsters. However, it has many many negative effects. First and foremost, this trend may become the cause of youth unemployment because when life expectancy of old people increase, less job opportunities would be available for youngsters as senior citizens would not get retirement. As a result, younger ones would have to face many obstacles regarding their career. There is also chance that they may start committing crime as they have a lot of pent up energy which need to channelized in right direction. That is why, it can become hindrance in their success. In addition to this, if there would be higher proportion of elders, then government have to give pensions to them. Due to this, financial burden on the government's shoulder would be increased and it is not good for the development of country. As authorities have to give pensions to old people, So they may not invest this money in order to provide facilities to other citizens as well as in the holistic growth of nation. Besides this, sometimes old people remain unable to do work and they become financially dependent on youngsters. Thus, dependency rate on youth would be increased and it would influence their living standard in a negative way. Consequently, it can become the cause of poverty among many families. In conclusion, considering upon aspects i personally reiterate that although it has carries some positive effects but its downsides cannot be neglected.