Some people think that laws should be passed to assess nutrition and food choices to improve public health. Others think this is wrong.

In today’s modern world, public health has been a concern. When it comes to this topic, some individuals raise their voice to propose laws towards nutrition and diets so as to enhance people’s health. While I am in favour of food choices’ importance towards health, I reckon that there are more factors affecting it. On the one hand, it is believed that nutrition plays an integral role in health. Initially, by assessing a food intake, the governments can rest assured of a balanced diet for residents containing an essential amount of carbohydrate, lipit, minerals, etc. With a good eating plan, people stand a higher chance of having a healthier life as they have sufficient calories and nutrition from food to maintain a fit body. For instance, life expectancy in Japanese is considerably high in comparison to other countries due to their high-protein diet. On the other hand, there are some factors that directly do harm to our health. Firstly, the shortage of free time is conducive to health-related problems. Owing to hectic schedules at work and schools, employees and students these days lack in time for relaxation. As a matter of fact, both do not only have to work from nine to five but also have to attend extra classes or work extra shifts, which means there is barely any time left for other activities let alone entertaining or doing exercises. This results in extreme stress or even worse, depression. Moreover, because of the development of technology, if there is free time, people have a tendency to stay at home playing video games rather than go out for a refreshing walk. As a result, this sedentary lifestyle might lead to obesity due to calories surplus In conclusion, while I admit that diet plays a crucial role to people’s health, other factors such as a sedentary lifestyle and lack of time resulting from over-stressed schedules do matter too. Therefore, the governments as well as individuals should put all methods into consideration in order to raise public health.