A person spends most of his or her time at the workplace, and life becomes meaningless when there is no job satisfaction.

It is true that as people spend most of their lifetime at work, job contentment plays an integral part in their life fulfillment. However, I do not fully support the view that without employment satisfaction, life would become meaningless. There are numerous reasons why job seekers or employees prioritize occupational pleasure. One possible justification is that being happy with their work, people are more willing and eager to engage in training programs or extra activities to hone their knowledge and cultivate their skills. This would in turn bring about a sense of purpose, making their lives more meaningful. It should also be noted that the dissatisfaction within the work environment might lead to mental illnesses. In reality, the decreased employment contentment is highly correlated with increased absenteeism and reduced productivity, making employees’ working lives undesirable and contributing to higher rates of turnover. Yet changing jobs periodically prevents people from enjoying their lives as it takes time and effort to adapt to the new corporate culture. However, job contentment is not the key to happiness for a number of individuals. It is indisputable that money plays such a pivotal role in people’s daily lives that it can help them not only cover their subsistence needs but also lead a more comfortable life. For this reason, when participating in full-time employment, many people place much emphasis on financial security over job satisfaction. This could be attributed to the fact that the happiness at the workplace does not necessarily translate into a decent remuneration. When not having enough money to pay for their daily expenses, workers cannot be content with their lives no matter how satisfied their job is. Employment stability is also another factor that matters in a person’s career path. In other words, a stable job and regular income could enable people live their lives to the fullest. In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, I would contend that job satisfaction is essential. Still, other variables such as earnings and job security are equally important in making laborers happy with their work.