t is generally acknowledged that families are now not as close as they used to be. What are the causes? What can be done to improve the situation?

In comparison with the past, the family connection is increasingly impair. In this essay, reasons for this phenomenon will be analysed and relevant solutions will be provided as well. There are several reasons leading to the gradually distant family relationship. The primary reason is that society is becoming increasingly competitive. This status not only has forced adults to be dragged into a whirlpool of work in order to support their family financially but also make the study burden putting on children’s shoulders become heavier and heavier. As a result, family members have less time to take care of each other and become estranged from remaining members. Furthermore, the development of technology has also contributed to this trend. In modern days, almost everybody has personal electronic devices such as smartphones so they have a preference for spending their time scrolling through their feed or playing games rather than communicating to other members, which creates a distance between them. In comparison with the recent past when face-to-face communication was the most common form of interaction, people had better understanding of their families due to the unpopularity of personal electronic gadgets.