Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside urban centers. Do you think the advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

Some argue that huge firms and factories must be relocated to the countryside far away from the city because comparatively more area can be allocated to promote a better-facilitated work environment. However, others, including myself believe that shifting to a remote location will lead employees to face several difficulties. On the one hand, when organizations and manufacturing units are built in the outskirts, a large setup with the latest technologies and various departments under one roof can help boost productivity. For instance, Tesla motors a reputed electric vehicle manufacturer constructed a Gigafactory in the countryside of Texas which is built on several hectares of land. This facility is capable of producing a million e-vehicles in a month whereas a similar facility may not be possible to set up within the city due to lack of space. On the other hand, despite having the advantage, there are several drawbacks in shifting offices away from the urban areas. Most of the employees who stay in the center of the city will have to commute long hours in order to reach their workplace, this takes a toll on their travel cost and work-life balance. Moreover, these remote places lack basic infrastructures like hospitals and grocery stores that are essential in case of emergencies. For example, labor-intensive factories are prone to accidents, so a multi-specialty hospital nearby will surely help in saving the lives of critically injured employees. In conclusion, although shifting the offices may help the organization to build a large setup and increase productivity, it is a serious threat to the workforce during trauma and affects personal life adversely by not only prolonging the commute time but also increasing the cost of travel.